Tuesday, 22 December 2009

Noun vs Stereotype

soooooooo, I'm findin' this whole business of what is generally offensive right peturbin' which has irked me no end.

In possibly Britain's most successful supermarket I found that Frankie Boyle's biography "My Shit Life So Far" had been censored and Roy "Chubby" Brown's new dvd "Too Fat to be Gay" had not. I'm not a gay man and dont think the name of the dvd is particularly offensive (although I'm not sure that weight is an issue in the gay community, don't be so hard on yourself Chubby, if you wanna be gay you go out and find all the bum fun you can, fill yer boots or your bum duct with man meat or indeed if you're the post man deliver a parcel ;) ;) )

It's the sight of Chubs in a tutu that I believe is offensive because while there are effiminate gay people, the vast majority (at least the gay guys I know) are largely ambiguous in the way they conduct themselves and most elightened people know this.

There's nout wrong wiv bein' a girl n that but it's that old insinuation that gay fellas are diff'rent n should be viewed as a seperate gender from the other two (man and woman respectively) and I would rather explain to my child that 'shit' is a vulgar noun that is innapropriate in some circles than try to reverse the perception that effeminate men are somefin to be gorped at n mocked rather than embraced as a fellow member of this 'ere 'ooman race.

If you find the word 'shit' offensive it's because you've conjured up the image in you own mind of a festering pile 'o effluent, you make it offensive, the word itself is innocuous and as a singular unit of language doesn't really suggest much, it's only offensive in context eg. "You are a shit" or "I wanna stuff shit in your mouth", see? that's offensive, but on its own 'shit' just ain't.

This whole business makes me sad 'cos it whiffs of institutionalised homophobia, 'shit' is offensive to those who choose to find it so and homophobia targets a specific group of innocent people which truly is offensive in much the same way that burglary is, what's good for the goose is good for the gander so let's do away wiv this 'ipocrasy and be sensitive to people who are afraid of the word 'shit' and the gay community as well, eh?

1 comment: